the task force develop an action plan that promotes a new understanding of the content and emerging functions that research libraries provide in the 21st Century digital networked environment. Avery is Head of the University College Libraries and Collection Development Coordinator for Commonwealth Campus Libraries at Penn State University. Karla Strieb currently the Assistant Executive Director for the program on Transforming Research Libraries will become the Associate Director for Collections, Technical Services and Scholarly Communications at the Ohio State University Libraries (OSUL) on April 1, 2011. Strieb has served as Assistant Executive Director for the Transforming Research Libraries program at ARL since 2009, after leading ARL’s Scholarly Communication program beginning in 2005. Honors Carol A. Mandel, Dean of the Division of Libraries at New York University and ARL President, will receive the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award in June 2011 at the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services Award Program during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans. Mandel is being honored for her leadership in shaping the future of academic libraries and as a “pioneer in developing user-centered service models for both the physical and the virtual library, based on assessment and research.” Deanna Marcum, associate librarian for Library Services at the Library of Congress, will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from North Carolina State University. Dr. Marcum is being honored for her role in forging a path to make our national library—and research libraries in general—as relevant in the digital world as they have been in the print environment. RLI 274 19 News ( C O N T I N U E D ) FEBRUARY 2011 RESEARCH LIBRARY ISSUES: A BIMONTHLY REPORT FROM ARL, CNI, AND SPARC
Previous Page Next Page