News ARL Transitions California, Irvine: Lorelei Tanji, Associate University Librarian for Collections, was appointed Acting University Librarian, effective March 1, 2011. Gerald Lowell, Interim Library Director and Assistant Dean of the Claire Trevor School of the Arts, retired February 28, 2011. California, Santa Barbara: Denise Stephens has been named University Librarian, effective July 1, 2011. She is currently the Strategic and Organizational Research Librarian at the University of Kansas. Harvard: Helen Shenton, a member of the Harvard Library Implementation Work Group and a veteran of the British Library, has been named Executive Director of the Harvard Library. National Library of Medicine: Becky J. Lyon, Deputy Associate Director, Library Operations, retired on April 29, 2011. Tennessee: Steven Escar Smith has been appointed Dean of Libraries, effective July 1, 2011. He is currently Interim Executive Associate Dean at Texas A&M Libraries. Yale: Susan Gibbons has been appointed University Librarian, effective July 1, 2011. She is currently Vice Provost and the Andrew H. & Janet Dayton Neilly Dean of the River Campus Libraries at the University of Rochester. ARL Staff Transitions Kaylyn Groves, Communications Program Officer, returned from maternity leave March 28, 2011. Her temporary replacement, Sarah Lippincott, is pursuing a master’s degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Information and Library Science. Honors Peter Suber, SPARC Senior Researcher, has been named by the American Library Association (ALA) as this year’s winner of the L. Ray Patterson Copyright Award. The annual award recognizes contributions of an individual or group that pursues and supports the Constitutional purpose of the US Copyright Law, fair use, and the public domain. RLI 275 25 JUNE 2011 RESEARCH LIBRARY ISSUES: A QUARTERLY REPORT FROM ARL, CNI, AND SPARC
Previous Page Next Page