The Board is the governing body of the Association and represents the interests of ARL member libraries in directing the business of the Association, including establishing operating policies, budgets, and fiscal control modifying the ARL mission and objectives and representing ARL to the community. To view a photo roster of the ARL Board of Directors, visit ARL Transitions Hawaii: Paula Mochida will retire as Interim University Librarian, effective, December 31, 2011. She has served the university for over 37 years, including 5 years in her current position. Library of Congress: Deanna Marcum will retire as Associate Librarian for Library Services, effective December 31, 2011, after 8 years in the post. She has accepted the position of Managing Director, Ithaka S+R, effective January 1, 2012. Roberta I. Shaffer has been appointed Associate Librarian for Library Services at the Library of Congress, effective January 3, 2012. She has served as Law Librarian of Congress since August 2009. SPARC Transitions SPARC Europe: Lars Bjørnshauge was appointed Interim Director, effective October 19, 2011. He was formerly Director of Libraries at Lund University in Sweden and a long-standing member of the SPARC Europe Board. Other Transitions Association of American University Presses (AAUP): Peter Givler plans to retire as Executive Director, effective June 2013, after 16 years leading AAUP. British Library: Lynne Brindley will step down from her position of Chief Executive at the end of July 2012, after 12 years leading the library. Honors Sul Lee was honored by the University of Oklahoma (OU) during its annual Ring Ceremony on October 21 for his “outstanding leadership of the library system for more than 30 years.” He also was selected to serve as parade marshal for the OU Homecoming Parade on October 22. RLI 277 27 News ( C O N T I N U E D ) DECEMBER 2011 RESEARCH LIBRARY ISSUES: A QUARTERLY REPORT FROM ARL, CNI, AND SPARC
Previous Page Next Page