National Science Foundation (NSF): The US Senate approved President Obama’s nomination of Subra Suresh, Dean of the MIT School of Engineering, to serve as the next Director of NSF for a six-year term. Society of College, National, and University Libraries (SCONUL UK): Ann Rossiter was appointed Executive Director, effective September 13, 2010. She was previously a special adviser in government, where her work included higher education and intellectual property policy. Honors David H. Carlson (Southern Illinois Carbondale) has been named the 2010 Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year by the Illinois Library Association. The award is presented by the Illinois Association of College and Research Libraries (IACRL) Forum in recognition of outstanding contributions to academic and research librarianship in the state. Virginia: On October 28, 2010, the US Government Printing Office’s (GPO) Acting Superintendent of Documents Ric Davis honored the University of Virginia Alderman Library for a century of providing Americans free and public access to the documents of our democracy. For 100 years, Alderman Library has been a member of GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). RLI 272 30 News ( C O N T I N U E D ) OCTOBER 2010 RESEARCH LIBRARY ISSUES: A BIMONTHLY REPORT FROM ARL, CNI, AND SPARC
Previous Page Next Page