National Archives and Records Administration: David S. Ferriero, previously Andrew W. Mellon Director of the New York Public Library (NYPL), was confirmed as the 10th Archivist of the US by the Senate on November 6, 2009, and was sworn in on November 13. National Science Foundation (NSF): President Obama announced his intent to nominate Subra Suresh, Dean of the MIT School of Engineering, to serve as the next Director of NSF. Suresh has made significant contributions to the emerging field of nanobiomechanics and is a vocal advocate for greater interdisciplinary collaboration. OCLC Board: James G. Neal (Columbia) and Brian E. C. Schottlaender (California, San Diego) were elected to the OCLC Board of Trustees. Neal’s term began in April 2010 Schottlaender’s term starts in November 2010. The OCLC Global Council also elected Berndt Dugall (University of Frankfurt) Vice President/President-Elect, effective in July 2010. Research Libraries UK (RLUK): David Prosser was appointed Executive Director, effective March 2010. He was previously Director of SPARC Europe. RLI 270 32 News and Calendar ( C O N T I N U E D ) JUNE 2010 RESEARCH LIBRARY ISSUES: A BIMONTHLY REPORT FROM ARL, CNI, AND SPARC
Previous Page Next Page